SBKA
The I&ES BKA Teaching Apiary 2018 Programme

Teaching Apiary at Wherstead Park IP9 2BJ (directions)

 
IES Logo
Date 'Special’ activity in addition to routine tasks in the apiary
Leader Attending
2pm Sun 27th May 2018Swarm control. Taking a swarm. BPaul White Allen weale
Marcel Grigore
Nichi Wilson-Keshane
Joy Stodart
John Lee
Hazel Lee
2pm Sun 3rd Jun 2018Making nucs. A dummy Basic Assessment for those that want oneBJeremy Quinlan Allen weale
Marcel Grigore
Nichi Wilson-Keshane
2pm Sun 10th Jun 2018Extracting honey. Richard Allen Allen weale
Marcel Grigore
Nichi Wilson-Keshane
2pm Sun 17th Jun 2018Queen introductionBarrie Powell Allen weale
Marcel Grigore
Nichi Wilson-Keshane
2pm Sun 24th Jun 2018Taking a sample for Nosema examination. Chalk Brood.Jeremy Quinlan Nichi Wilson-Keshane
2pm Sun 1st Jul 2018Finding & marking queens. Wasps.Paul White Marcel Grigore
Nichi Wilson-Keshane
2pm Sun 8th Jul 2018Varroa monitoring.Richard Allen Allen weale
Nichi Wilson-Keshane
2pm Sun 15th Jul 2018Uniting.Barrie Powell Allen weale
Nichi Wilson-Keshane
2pm Sun 22nd Jul 2018Varroa monitoring and treatmentsJeremy Quinlan Nichi Wilson-Keshane
2pm Sun 29th Jul 2018Feeding: calculating how much to feed and how and when to give it.Paul White Nichi Wilson-Keshane
2pm Sun 5th Aug 2018Other preparations for winter.Richard Allen Nichi Wilson-Keshane
2pm Sun 12th Aug 2018Sterilisation; fumigation of combs; preserving hives; preventing wax moth, mouse and woodpecker damage.Barrie Powell Nichi Wilson-Keshane
Sessions considered particularly helpful to those intending taking the BBKA’s Basic Assessment have been marked B.
If you want to change or delete any information on this table please email the changes to info@suffolkbeekeepers.co.uk